Here is the CIF-SS policy regarding ties in a tournament:
Teams that advance to the next round of a tournament via penalty kicks are NOT CREDITED WITH A WIN on their overall record. Both teams involved in the match will receive a TIE on their overall record if the match ends tied in regulation and penalty kicks are needed to determine who advances into the next round.
The ONLY EXCEPTION TO RULE STATED ABOVE is in a match where there is no further advancement in a tournament (i.e. championship match, third place match, fifth place match, etc.). In that scenario, the team that wins in penalty kicks gets credited with a win on its overall record. The team that loses penalty kicks is officially credited with a loss on its record.
Read the rest of this entry »