Here is the CIF-SS policy regarding ties in a tournament:
Teams that advance to the next round of a tournament via penalty kicks are NOT CREDITED WITH A WIN on their overall record. Both teams involved in the match will receive a TIE on their overall record if the match ends tied in regulation and penalty kicks are needed to determine who advances into the next round.
The ONLY EXCEPTION TO RULE STATED ABOVE is in a match where there is no further advancement in a tournament (i.e. championship match, third place match, fifth place match, etc.). In that scenario, the team that wins in penalty kicks gets credited with a win on its overall record. The team that loses penalty kicks is officially credited with a loss on its record.
There have been several matches reported to OC Varsity.com over the last couple weeks in which tournament matches that have been decided by penalty kicks have been inaccurately recorded as wins.
Also, successful penalty kick attempts DO NOT count as official goals scored during the match and should not be recorded as such.
With the goal of having an accurate representation of every team’s win-loss record, all coaches, team officials and statisticians are strongly encouraged to report results accurately in accordance with the CIF-SS rules. Results that do not reflect accurate reporting of this rule will be adjusted.
More girls soccer news from the OCVarsity blog: